

Media Release

October 31, 2016

Peter Forestell, QC Named Chair of Board of Governors and Tammy Augustine and Phillippe Ouellette Join Board

Saint John lawyer Peter R. Forestell, QC has been appointed chair of St. Thomas University's board of governors and two new external members, Tammy Augustine, justice manager at Elsipogtog First Nation, and Phillippe Ouellette, executive director in the office of the Saint John city manager, have joined the board.

Forestell is the New Brunswick chair of the regional law firm Cox & Palmer. After completing his education at St. Thomas University and UNB, he was called to the New Brunswick Bar in 1977. He has been recognized in the *Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory* as a leading practitioner in corporate commercial law and property development and has been listed as a leading practitioner by *The Best Lawyers in Canada*. He is also a member of the board of directors of Hospice Saint John, and is a former member of the boards for the St. Joseph's Hospital Foundation, the Canadian Red Cross (NB Division) and the Rocmaura Foundation.

"I am very pleased to continue to serve my alma mater as chair of the board of governors," said Forestell.

"St. Thomas University has always been a distinct part of the post-secondary landscape in the province, and it plays a unique and vital role in educating young New Brunswickers, as well as students from every province in Canada and more than 30 countries. STU's graduates are putting their education to work doing wonderful things with their lives and in their communities. Like all members of the board, I am looking forward to providing direction and support to the university."

Augustine is also a graduate of STU and holds an LLB from the University of Ottawa. Since 2011, she has been the justice manager for the Elsipogtog First Nation where she is responsible for overseeing justice programs and projects related to the Restorative Justice Program—healing and sentencing circles (including Victim Services) and the healing and wellness court. She has been active in her community at Elsipogtog and throughout the province. She serves on the justice advisory committee and served on the crime reduction strategy workgroup at Elsipogtog. She has also served on the New Brunswick Advisory Committee on Violence Against Aboriginal Women and the New Brunswick Roundtable on Crime and Public Safety.

Ouellette is the deputy commissioner of growth and community planning for the City of Saint John where he holds the administrative responsibilities for coordinating economic development, intergovernmental affairs and revenue generation. He holds a bachelor of arts from STU, a master's in political studies from Queen's University and recently completed the Senior Executive in State and Local Government Program from the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. Prior to joining the City of Saint John, he worked for the Government of New Brunswick as a director in the Population Growth Secretariat. He currently serves on Saint John's Social Renewal Strategy and Saint John's Advisory Board on Homelessness.

In addition to these external members, faculty members Professor Dawne Clarke and Professor Tom Bateman have been elected to two-year terms by their faculty colleagues.

St. Thomas University's board of governors is comprised of a majority of external members and also includes *ex officio* members, faculty representatives, student representatives, and alumni representatives.

- 30 -